I saw this great post on Lifehacker which explains the process of how to permanently delete your facebook account very clearly.  I want to be clear in writing this I’m not being anti-facebook, I still use it daily, I just know a number of people who’ve struggled to close their account.

The deletion process is actually very easy, but it needs to be very thorough and it’ll take 14 days to be official. If you’re ready to say goodbye to your Facebook account, just follow these steps:

  1. Think of any and all sites that you log into using Facebook connect. That means any site that is not Facebook itself but lets you log in using the same username and password as you do for Facebook. Once you know every one of the sites on this list, go to each of them and close your accounts. If you log in to any of those sites during the cancellation period (which lasts two weeks) your account will be instantly reinstated and you’ll have to start over again. You can always recreate the accounts later.
  2. Visit the Facebook Account Deletion Page. If you’re asked to log in, go ahead and do so. When you see the page called “Delete My Account” with two buttons, click the one labeled “Submit.”
  3. Next you will be asked “You are about to permanently delete your account. Are you sure?” If you are, enter your password and the text pictured in the image on the page. When ready, click “Okay.”
  4. After you confirm, do nothing—really, do nothing. It will take 14 days for the account deletion to actually take, so if you log back into your account anytime in the next two weeks. Once the two weeks have passed without any login in any way, shape, or form, your account will be gone for good.

Also be sure to check your email after you’ve initiated the account deletion process. You should receive an email letting you know it has begun. Check your junk folder if you don’t see it in your inbox. If you do not receive this email, it’s possible the process has not begun and you’ll need to try again.

If you’re deleting for the purposes of creating a new account, you can still create one while waiting for the original account to disappear. In fact, this may be a good thing to do as you’ll be logged into the new account and therefore have a difficult time logging into the old one.

Chris
cskidd1983@gmail.com
Married to the amazing Sarah and raising Jakey, Daniel, Amelia, Josh & Jonah in our blended family. Passionate for Jesus, social work & sport.

2 thoughts on “A History of Social Media”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.